

Rome Prize Announces 2017–18 Winners

The American Academy in Rome has announced the recipients of its annual Rome prize, which supports innovative and cross-disciplinary work in the arts and humanities through fellowships at its eleven-acre campus in Rome. Sanford Biggers, Abigail Deville, Rochelle Feinstein, Allen Frame, and Beverly Mciver are the awardees for the visual arts category. They will be provided with room and board, a stipend that ranges from \$16,000 and \$28,000, depending on the length of the fellowship, and studio space.



Chaired by Holly Block, executive director of the Bronx Museum of the Arts in New York, the jury for the visual arts comprised artists Polly Apfelbaum, Josephine Meckseper, and Lorna Simpson.

Brandon Clifford and Keith Krumwiede won fellowships in the architecture category, while Jennifer Birkeland, Jonathan A. Scelsa, and Tricia Treacy received fellowships for design.